How to make a Paper Bag skirt

Pleat fold top and paperbag skirt_1

A paper bag skirt was the first skirt I ever made for Scout. But sadly it has become too small for social etiquette. She wanted me to make her another one, but she was adamant that she didn’t want the single strap this time. I tried to tell explain to her that it was cool and quirky, but she looked at me in a way that suggested I had no idea what cool was.

Pleat Fold Top Paper Bag skirt_Needle and Ted_4

Whilst she was playing in the garden, I whipped up a paper bag skirt in some gorgeous double gauze that I bought whilst fabric shopping with Toya. She’s made a blouse for herself in the same fabric.

The skirt used up a rectangle of fabric, some elastic and about 30 minutes of my time.

Want to make one? Download my super simple paper bag skirt tutorial, to get the low down.

Pleat Fold Top Paper Bag skirt_Needle and Ted_6

It’s the first time I’ve sewn with double gauze and I thoroughly recommend it. It’s divine; light, airy and ever so soft. I’ve been turning my nose up at polycotton ever since.

Pleat Fold Top Paper Bag skirt_Needle and Ted_5

What to wear with a paper bag skirt

There are 2 ways to complete the paper bag look. Tuck it in or keep it cropped.

Pleat Fold Top Paper Bag skirt_Needle and Ted_3

I’m not a fan of cropped tops on little ones so it’s the tucked in option all the way for us.

Pleat Fold Top from Madeit Patterns sprang to mind, as I had just made a couple for Darcy.

Pleat Fold Top Paper Bag skirt_Needle and Ted_9

I omitted the elastic/shirred hem and lengthened the bodice so that even with raised arms it wouldn’t come untucked.

Pleat Fold Top Paper Bag skirt_Needle and Ted_7

I am delighted with how the paper bag skirt looks with the Pleat Fold Top, like it is just meant to be.

The complete outfit took me less than 2 hours to make. Now we are ready for the sunshine. Are you?

 

3 thoughts on “How to make a Paper Bag skirt

  1. OMG! She looks amazing! You three are absolutely, hands down the coolest chicks on the blogosphere! I love your style and those girls are picking up on it and already have such a good sense of who they are….and they are too cool!

    Like

Comments make me happy :-)