The ‘must have’ kids dress for this summer

Introducing Charlie by Mingo & Grace

Charlie dress ♥ Needle and Ted

When I first saw Charlie I liked her, I thought she was charming, uncomplicated and chic. She was bound to have style coming from Farrah of Mingo & Grace. If you check out her blog you’ll see what I mean. Great photography, clean typography and lots of elegant white space. A woman after my own heart. Charlie was everything you might expect from a woman who I’m sure agrees ‘there is beauty in simplicity’.

I thought Charlie would be a doddle to sew, in many ways she was, but when it came to finishing the neckline and arm holes, I went through bias binding hell and back and I’m not afraid to admit it.

I wasn’t the only one who needed reminding ‘RIGHT SIDES TOGETHER’. In the secret Facebook Group that Farrah set up there were others working past the midnight hour and making the same ‘common’ mistakes that I had, but it was reassuring to know that I am not alone. I am seriously thinking of changing my blog name to ‘Right Sides Together’ so I never forget. It wasn’t the first time I’d made that mistake and I bet it won’t be the last.

Charlie dress ♥ Needle and TedCharlie dress ♥ Needle and Ted

I found the binding a bit fiddly to say the least, especially around the arm hole on size 18 months. The unpicker and I were in cahoots whilst everyone else in the house was sleeping.

I also used the wrong size bias tape (instantly spotted by Farrah, she’s on the ball), because that’s all I had access to at 2 o’clock in the morning. Like a naughty school girl I had to confess this to Farrah, but what she didn’t spot, or rather she didn’t mention is that I didn’t remove the gathering stitches before I took the photos. Oh yes, I can be a rebel at times.

Charlie dress ♥ Needle and Ted

Size 18 months was a little more snug than I would have liked for 2 year old Scout, but I think that’s how Farrah intended it to be. I would normally have sized up but as it was a test I had to stick to the rules and sew according to the size guide. I used size 18 months bodice with a size 3 ruffle. It’s a little too short for a child who doesn’t yet know how to sit gracefully. ‘When sitting, a woman should cross her legs at the ankles when wearing a short skirt’, [said in a posh British accent]. Teamed up with a pair of leggings it creates a whole new look and the length is ideal.

Charlie dress ♥ Needle and Ted

I can honestly say that now the sewing is complete, I LOVE CHARLIE, I am willing go through bias binding hell again and make another one in a larger size or two because she’s worth it. Charlie rocks and she’s the ‘must have’ dress for this summer. She’s cute, she’s stylish, she’s modern. Perfect for young and curious kids from 12 months to 12 years.

Charlie dress ♥ Needle and Ted

Now stop admiring my Charlie, time to make your own. Due to the bias facing, I would say that you need to be a confident beginner at least, but if you’re used to sewing, then it will be a breeze. You can receive $2 off the pattern from Mingo & Grace up until 31 July by using the code: CHARLIEFRIEND

Or you could try your luck and win the pattern. The giveaway is open for 1 week. Good luck!

14 thoughts on “The ‘must have’ kids dress for this summer

  1. At last, you persevered in doing the bias binding thing!!! My first Charlie had a self-drafted full facing and my second had bias sewn across the raw edges…!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Charlie Dress – Take Two | Deux souriceaux

  3. Thanks so much for joining my testing group. I know you must be busy designing your own patterns but i really appreciate the help. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you (and all of the ladies) Let’s stay in touch

    Like

  4. You know I Love Charlie too and your version is super super cute!! I actually liked the bias binding technique but mine we’re far from perfect too. It’ll take a bit more Charlie making to perfect it hehehehehe 😉 anyway I’m glad you sticked to it since your Charlie is great!! 🙂 and BTW that girl is ADORABLE!!

    Like

  5. I’m so glad you sticked to it! Your Charlie is super super cute! I actually liked the bias technique but mine we’re far from perfect too! I guess it’ll take me a few more Charlies to perfect it, ha! And btw that girl is ADORABLE! 😉

    Like

Comments make me happy :-)