Housecoat*

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_6

*More commonly known as a dressing gown depending on where you live, what your mum calls it or how old you are.

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_12

I spent my first 29 years calling it a dressing gown and switched to housecoat like a disloyal friend, after living with a Scotsman. Now, much to the annoyance of my sister, housecoat flows out of my mouth like I’ve been saying it forever. The only other words I can think of where this happened is for products, like Oil of Ulay which became Oil of Olay, but how often does one need to say Oil of Olay? Nike started being pronounced Nikey rhyming with spikey in the UK, less than 5 years ago. And I don’t even know how Opal Fruits became Starbursts. But it was Marathon that I resisted for as long as possible, and before long I had switched to Snickers without even realising it.

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_10

Making a housecoat was not on my sewing to-do list but when choosing fabric from Maud’s Fabric Finds, I stumbled upon some Nicky Velour which I just wanted to reach out and touch, it looked so soft. And it just screamed housecoat to me, so housecoat it became. Which was a good idea actually as Scout’s old housecoat which was a hand-me-down from Darcy was getting too small. Shame on me, I hadn’t even noticed.

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_5

The colour I chose was cloud blue. I’d call it minty blue, a beautifully delicate, refreshing combination of green and blue with a hint of white. The colour I saw on the website did not do it justice.

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_7

It’s as soft, warm and cosy as it looks. Though Scout was disappointed that the softness was not on the inside and was reluctant to try it on at first. When she did, her eyes lit up and she smiled, “Ahhhh! Nice and warm.” She was won over in an instant.

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_1

I used a pattern for a cardigan, which I bought from Makerist, no longer on the website but I tracked it down here.

To turn it into a housecoat, I did 4 simple things:

  1. Sized up
  2. Lengthened by 4 inches
  3. Added a belt and belt loops
  4. Lined the hood

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_4

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_9

Scout decided to direct this photoshoot. “Show them the inside mummy,” she said…

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_11

…she’s really getting the hang of being the daughter of a sewing blogger mum.

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_2

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_3

Housecoat. Dressing gown. Bathrobe. What do you call it?

velour housecoat_NeedleandTed_8

Until tomorrow, toodaloo!

9 thoughts on “Housecoat*

  1. Ooooh that DOES look really warm and cozy! Now I want one. But as an American, I will steadfastly call it a “bathrobe” and I doubt that will ever change, haha. (“Dressing gown” sounds too fancy to use in relation to myself, and “housecoat”….well, I’m sorry but it makes me think of a “lab coat” mixed with “houseboat” and I can’t help laughing when I try picturing that. No offense intended.)

    Like

  2. That looks so lovely warm and soft. In the Netherlands we can use two options: badjas (bathrobe) or…. duster!!! I grew up saying duster, but nowadays it is an oldfashioned word to use. Without realising it I switched to badjas. Still I cannot help to grin everytime I see a Dacia Duster on the road. Which car brand would ever name their car after a bathrobe…. ?! But I guess the english would thing it rather strange that a bathrobe is called a duster 😉

    Like

    • Ha ha, I had to look up Dacia Duster, I don’t think we have those cars in the UK or if we do I haven’t seen one. Actually, in the UK a duster is a long loose coat, so it makes sense that it is bathrobe in your language.

      Like

  3. Housecoat indeed. It is a dressing gown. And I am sticking to it.the colour looks great and if it is cosy then it does the job. Good idea to have a dressing gown with a hood Great job.

    Like

Comments make me happy :-)

