A few of my favourite things

groove-dress_stripes_1

I was asked by Project Run & Play to write about a few of my favourite things. And of course Julie Andrews immediately popped into my head. I bet she popped into your head too, so come on press PLAY and sing along folks.

Ernest Wright scissors and my rotary cutter,

Organic Nosh fabric and sleeves with a flutter,

Denim and piping and heart headed pins.

These are a few of my favourite things.

favourite-things_1a

Bernina 350 and Japanese patterns,

Gathers and drapes and quirky street fashions,

Invisible zippers and dresses that swing,

These are a few of my favourite things.

favourite-things_1b

When I cut wrong, when a shirt’s tight,

When I forget to add,

I simply remember my favourite things,

and then I don’t sew so bad.


And here are a few of my favourite makes (for my girls) of 2016…

 

The Loveralls

One of my proudest sewing moments. So much love and hard work went into making them, with meticulous attention to detail.

The Groove Dress

For me, the Groove Dress is the new black. It ticks all the boxes. Quite frankly it’s addictive, I’ve made 15 so far (and counting).

The Cocoon Dress

I just love the silhouette of this dress and the flutter sleeves are the icing on the cake.

The Pleat Fold Top with a Paper Bag Skirt

I made quite a few Pleat Fold Tops during the Summer, then I discovered that paired with a paper bag skirt it was a match made in heaven.

The Petal Fold Playsuit (as separates)

It all just came together when making the Petal Fold Separates. I think I choose the perfect fabric and with the little pop of yellow it came alive. Piping is always a good idea.


What was your favourite make of 2016?

Even if it was a loaf of bread, I’d love to hear about it.

But if you have a favourite something-something that you made for your child, then why not join the linkup at Project Run & Play.

12 thoughts on “A few of my favourite things

  1. I really didn’t do much sewing this past year (back problems) and the fee pieces I did see ended up being sold. I did create a new way of embellishing an oversize tee that I’m proud of….but my favorite was a simple cat bed for my niece. She has four cats and she took pictures of all of them on the bed …..made me very happy! I need to get started on gift sewing for Christmas, everybody is getting tops this year.

    Like

    • Ooooo I would like to hear about your new method for embellishing. Awww! the cat bed sounds really sweet. Great idea tops for everyone, but yes you really should get started soon, really, really soon. I made a few Christmas gifts at the weekend, but I’ll be blogging about those in the new year 😉

      Like

  2. Loved the little sing-a-long. You made a lot of lovely things this year so it must have been hard to choose, looking at them I can’t choose. The favourite thing I made this year so far was a bag. I have 13 more days it may change.

    Like

Comments make me happy :-)

