Young and Free and Wild as the Sea

pixie-shorts_4

 “You were born to dance to the beat of your own heart; to roam without cages; with the innocence of a child, and the free spirit of untamed horses; I hope you laugh without stopping, live with abandon, and love like that’s all there is; stay wild, my wild, wild child.”

Kenny Chesney

pixie-shorts_3pixie-shorts_2pixie-shorts_13

Today I’m on the Twig & Tale* Blog Tour, in celebration of the innocence of childhood and the wonder of nature.

tt-blog-tour-graphic*formerly known as Big Littlepixie-shorts_6pixie-shorts_7

If children were free to roam wild all day long, just imagine what they might get up to. Jumping, climbing, throwing stones, getting dirty… this is the stuff childhood is made of. Stuff we seem to give up as we turn into adolescents. Long may children be innocent, stay young and be free.

pixie-shorts_8

And so I stood and watched as Darcy played happily with what nature had to offer. Wearing her salmon pink, Twig & Tale Pixie Shorts that I had lovingly sewn together only a few days before. With a matching t-shirt that I made in a last minute frenzy.

pixie-shorts_10

And as the sun went down, it was time to go.

“Come on Darcy,” I said. “Time to go.”

She collected together her stones and shells and the plastic bottle and cup that she had found washed up by the rocks.

“Put that back” I said hurriedly, anxious to get moving.

“But mummy, we have to take it, we can’t leave it, it’s pollution.”

pixie-shorts_9

She was right, of course. And in those words, she humbled my heart.


About my Pixie Shorts

pixie-shorts_11

I had taken weeks to decide what shorts to make Darcy for the summer. I only planned on making one or two pairs but in the end I accidentally made six. Two being the Twig & Tale Pixie Shorts, the others you can find in my Instagram feed.

From the measurement chart, Darcy was coming up as a size 5. She’s 9 years old and has a small waist but usually needs extra in the rise. I made a calculated decision and decided to go with a size 9 to accommodate her hips, thighs and booty. That way I could adjust the waist at the end if need be.

pixie-shorts_detail

I made a few changes to the pattern to make them my own. (As Louis Walsh often says on the X factor, “you made that song your own”.)

Firstly I pleated the front instead of gathering. I was hoping for a slightly less puffy effect which I thought would look at bit more mature on a 9 year old.

Secondly I added some pale pink piping under the waistband, because piping is always a good idea.

And indeed, I had to make the waistband smaller, but choosing a size 9 was the right decision.

I’m really pleased with the end result, so much so I made another pair. Pop back on Friday to see them.

pixie-shorts_flat-lay-1

Thinking Darcy had nothing to wear with her new shorts, I made a ‘quick’ impromptu t-shirt to match. It was nearly midnight and for some reason I thought if I freestyled rather than use a pattern it would be quicker. It wasn’t. But sometimes one should just let loose and go with the flow, ie make it up as you go along. And at that ungodly hour, one might not be thinking straight.

The pale pink fabric is jersey and I was trying to replicate a sleeve similar to this. But it didn’t turn out quite right. Then I added the same fabric that I used for the shorts to the hem of the t-shirt, for a quirky knit-woven mash up.

If you’re ever looking for cotton in solid colours, I recommend Kona from Robert Kaufman. Plush Addict stock 304 colours. So I’m sure they’ll have the colour you might be looking for. The colour I used is called punch.

It was some weeks later that I realised that Darcy already had a matching top to wear with her shorts. Don’t you just hate it when that happens?

Darcy is delighted with her new shorts. Thanks goes to Twig + Tale for inviting me on the tour and enabling my daughter to add to her collection of handmade shorts this summer.


Wait, look, there’s a giveaway.

pixie-shorts_12

Art Gallery Fabrics is kindly sponsoring 2 yards of Art Gallery fabric of your choice. And Twig + Tale are giving away 5 patterns of your choice.

Enter by clicking on the rafflecopter link below. (International entries are welcome.
The winning entry will be checked to ensure all criteria are met.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

For more adventure and wonder, check  out what the other bloggers made for the tour…

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
16 thoughts on “Young and Free and Wild as the Sea

  1. Oh the pics were worth the wait! I already guessed she found the half bottle, my kids do the same. Wanting to take it with her to avoid pollution is actually the better option, here it usually has to come home because they want to continue playing with it, like our house is not covered in toys…

    Like

  2. Awww so cool she picked up the plastic bottle 🙂 Love your shorts! The piping really adds an extra little something. Looking forward to seeing the next pair xx

    Like

  3. Beautiful touches again to your projects; Piping & pleats work a treat. Definitely logged that little touch for next summer. Ta!

    Like

  4. Wait a minute….when did this child get so big?!?! I seem to remember a charming, beautiful child with such great personal style but now……this is a taller, charming, beautiful almost young lady with great personal style! Seriously, it kind of makes me happy and sad at the same time

    Like

Comments make me happy :-)

