You may not want to read this if you’re eating

sleep gown made by Needle and Ted

I always thought the reason some baby clothes have envelope necklines was to make it easier to get on and off. I assume most people thought the same. But last year not one, not two but three people told me that when your baby does a tsunami of a poo, lets just call it a ‘poonami’ for want of a better word. You know the ones that are really wet, really huge, and more ends up outside the nappy than inside the nappy.Then, instead of pulling his* clothes (and stinky, sopping, sticky poo) up over his body, over his face, up his nose, in his eyes and in his hair, you can slide his clothes down off his shoulders and over his body to avoid poonami spreading further.

Did you know that?

I’m a bit cynical of this new-to-me information. It seems very strange and unlikely that I had never heard of this before during raising 2 children and having copious amounts of advice from multiple demographic groups. Then in October 2014, even though I no longer have a child of the poonami age, I am told of this discovery by no less than three people. Hmmm! Am I wrong to be suspicious?

My theory is that Mr & Mrs Thatsabetterwaytodoit realised that they may be the only ones practicing this clever technique. They told their friends, who in turn told their friends and their friends told me (and after hearing it 3 times on 3 consecutive days in October 2014, I must confess, it did feel a little like déjà poo.)

I’m wondering if it may be one of those urban myths like the hotel toothbrush story**.

I actually think it’s a really good idea, next time you are met with baby poonami, please try it out and let me know if it works. I’m not convinced that Mr and Mrs Envelopeneckline had thought of it when they designed it back in 19whenever, but if it does work, how innovative is that?

What do you think?

sleep gown made by  Needle and TedAnyway I do believe, sleep gowns like this (pictured above) were specifically designed to make nappy changing easier, with no poppers to fiddle with whilst baby sleeps.

A friend asked me to make her one so she could give it as a gift to her friend who had a sick baby in hospital. Such a lovely idea don’t you think? I took care in choosing this beautiful Elk Farm organic 100% cotton jersey fabric from Fabric Godmother. I like to feel fabric before I buy it, so I was taking a risk buying online. I didn’t need to worry, it was beautiful, amazingly soft and worth every penny.

sleep gown made by Needle and TedTo make the sleep gown I used a combination of this free pattern from Stitched Together and this free pattern from Small Dream Factory.

Free pattern + beautiful fabric = contented sewing lady

For more free patterns and inspiration, flip on over to Frances Suzanne for a ‘Free for All’ February.

 

*I say ‘his’ but it could be ‘hers’ too, I just didn’t want to confuse the matter by getting pedantic.

**Whilst on holiday, a couple returned to their hotel room to find that they had been robbed. The thieves had made off with most of their possessions, but the couple were pleased to discover that their camera was still there. When they got home a few days later, and developed the roll of film still in the camera, there were pictures of two strangers in their hotel room, each with a toothbrush up their bums. The couple were horrified when they realised it was their toothbrushes.

26 thoughts on “You may not want to read this if you’re eating

  1. Well, I had no idea this was going to be a version of my pattern when I clicked on this post! I love it. I can’t tell which part is not mine. Is that a bad sign? And please, if you had any problems with the pattern, let me know. I can take it. 😉
    So, I have to tell you that I have 5 kids and have never heard the envelope neckline tip related to poonamis. Sounds like something I would have loved to have known 5 kids ago.
    And that hotel story? That made me laugh out loud.

    Like

  2. Oh I feel smug because I knew about the envelope thing. But that is only because of the volume of poonamis, poocanoes and poocopalypses I had to deal with in the middle of the blurry night so don’t hold it against me. Beautiful fabric – it will go lovely with the poo!

    Like

    • Lesley, you are one of a few so it seems. Your other poo types have made me laugh (a lot), how could I have even forgotten a poocanoe and a poocopalypse. I certainly will not hold it against you, that would be really messy.

      Indeed, I had already considered how lovely it may look in the event of a poo crisis. A perfect colour for an elk.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post, I actually laughed out loud on your Poonami description, indeed in the hair and on the nose and do not forget the whole back! I had the same experience as you last October, this envelop news was popping up on my Facebook and being told by friends. I totally agree with you that somebody made this up and claimed that it should have been the intention from the start of such a garment. The funny thing is that it works. I also hadn’t heard about it when trying to clean up the poonami’s of my three eldest, but with the fourth I now have used it multiple times already.

    Like

    • Oh yes, I had forgotten the back, that’s where most of it goes.

      Oooh! I feel closer to finding out the truth, now that I have you as a witness (and with dates). Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

      Good to hear that it works, who ever discovered it should make themselves known. Maybe I can get to the bottom of it (see what I did there) after my full investigation.

      Like

  4. Same thing happend to me. Not long ago I read on facebook or so that that’s what the envelope is for. I mean it is definitely a nice idea (though we are mostly done with the poonamis), but I don’t think that it was the primary idea for the envelope neck…

    Like

  5. I had never known that before it started circulating on Facebook either! We did cloth diapers and with our first, never had an incident that would’ve necessitated this – hopefully our second will follow suit. I LOVE Birch knit, this is adorable as that ending story is gross 😛

    Like

  6. Pingback: You may not want to read this if you are eating (again) | Needle and Ted

Comments make me happy :-)

