Making this dress was like having a baby

Making this dress was like having a baby

Some of the process was rather painful and I felt I needed a long break before I could continue, but in the end I was left with something beautiful and really special.

sunki dress ♥ Needle and TedOK, don’t vomit at how corny that sounded, but really, the Sunki dress is not for the faint hearted, it’s for the experienced sewer* or the very brave. I fit between the two, but more towards the brave end. No colourful photos to guide you through each step of the way, you may just have to use your prior knowledge to get you through this one.

sunki pocket detail_2 by Needle & Ted

The instructions were certainly a challenge for me. (Ermm! the pockets were the most frustrating thing I have ever sewn.) But through each garment I sew I learn a little more and I have learnt that sometimes you can’t rely on the instructions you just have to use logic to get you through and by doing this you can gain confidence and achieve more than you think you are capable of.

Though the instructions for the pocket were incoherent, the method for attaching the zip could not have been simpler. Just lie the zip face down on top of the seam, pin and sew. Then remove the seam. You can’t get easier than that.

sunki dress by Needle and Ted

I used the same principal but sewed the zip on the outside instead of the inside. Magenta contrasts so beautifully with navy blue, it would have been a shame to hide it.

sunki dress // NEEDLE AND TED

Once you get over the fact that the Sunki is not the easiest dress you will ever sew. Once you have completed your dress and slept off your headache. Once you are able to step back and admire your handy work and feel proud at your accomplishment. You can then appreciate the beauty of the design;

sunki shoulder detail // NEEDLE AND TED

sunki pocket detail // NEEDLE AND TED

sunki dress by Needle and Ted

It looks like a dress that you would only find in a swanky boutique.

sunki sleeve detail

The fabric I used was from Ikea, bought many, many years ago. It’s a heavy weight cotton which helps to give the dress a somewhat tailored look. I lengthened the sleeves but must have got my calculations wrong because they still ended up a tad shorter than I planned, so I added a fancy cuff which turned out more fabulous than I even imagined.

sunki dress ♥ Needle and Ted

sunki dress ♥ Needle and Ted

But this post isn’t just about the Sunki dress. It’s about Perfect Pattern Parcel #5 Girls & Tweens which includes 5 other patterns:

Pattern Parcel #5: Choose your own price and support DonorsChoose. Win/win

  • Everyday Yoga Pant for Girls by Greenstyle
  • Playhouse Dress by Fishstick Designs
  • Mimi Dress and Shirt by Filles a Maman
  • Lily Knit Blazer by Peek-a-Boo Patterns
  • Asymmetrical Drape Top by EYMM

The Sunki dress is the Bonus Pattern

Choose a price of $28 or greater for Parcel #5 and you will automatically be sent the Bonus Pattern! Make it in knit or woven, the pattern is from 18 months through to age 16.

Pattern Parcel #5: Choose your own price and support DonorsChoose. Win/win

How Pattern Parcel Works (in their own words)

“Here at Perfect Pattern Parcel, we believe in supporting independent pattern designers. It’s our opinion that indie patterns are just, well, better than big box patterns, and we’re pretty sure our customers think so too. So, we allow customers to show their support in naming their own price for each Parcel. We also encourage customers to allocate part of their Parcel price to the charity Donorschoose.org in order to help classrooms in need. Pattern Parcel donates all profits after expenses from Parcel sales to the charity as well. Together we’ve raised over $11,000 for classrooms in need!”

*I hate the word sewer but I couldn’t think of anything more appropriate to call a person who sews. Not to be confused with sewer (tunnels and tunnels of extremely smelly water).

 


Look who else has participated in the Perfect Pattern Parcel tour

 

Pienkel
Cookin’ and Craftin’

Sew Busy Lizzy
The Life Of A Compulsive Crafter

Keep Calm and Carrion
Felt With Love Designs

Radiant Home Studio
Sewing Sober

Sew Fishsticks
La Pantigana
Amanda Rose

Shawnta Sews
Sprouting JubeJube
Knot Sew Normal

Make It Perfect
Mimi’s Mom
Climbing the Willow

Our Family Four

and still to come…

Saturday, September 27
Froo & Boo

Sunday, September 28
Stitches by Laura ||
Vicky Myers creations

Monday, September 29
Cookin’ and Craftin’ ||
The Crazy Tailor

Tuesday, September 30
mama says sew ||
FABulous Home Sewn ||
The Inspired Wren

Wednesday, October 1
lady and the gents ||
That’s-Sew-Kari ||
Sewing Sober

Thursday,October 2
Gracious Threads ||
Blogs Like A Mother ||
SewsNBows

Friday, October 3
sew chibi ||
Lulu & Celeste ||
Made by Sara

Pattern Parcel #5: Choose your own price and support DonorsChoose. Win/win

Get your parcel now!

 

 

 

 

SCAVENGER HUNT BUTTON

33 thoughts on “Making this dress was like having a baby

  1. Gorgeous! I love the Sunki, always have, but the cuff detail you added is perfection! I agree, the pockets are tricky to figure out, but I’m making my 3rd one and it all makes sense now! I just think, each challenging pattern teaches you a new skill you didn’t know before. Way to go!!

    Like

  2. This dress is seriously stunning, it was worth all the effort. Ok I have to say this… I am glad your sleeves ended up a bit too short because those cuffs are perfect.

    Like

  3. I felt a little the same way when I made the Manhattan dress from “Sewing Clothes Kids Love”,LOL. So many of the pieces looked the same right side up and upside down and left to right, but if you got them turned wrong…. oh boy… I took that bodice apart at least twice, LOL.

    I love navy and magenta here. After all, a beautiful finish!

    Like

  4. This is gorgeous! I agree, not the easiest sew, but SO worth it in the end. I found after I had the pockets done, the rest is quite easy. Oh, and i put my zipper on the outside too, can’t wait to share next week 🙂

    Like

  5. Love the dress definitely one of my favs from your work. I am sure many women would not agree that making a dress was like having a baby. It didn’t take 9 months for it to be completed.

    Like

  6. Oh man, this review did make me laugh after just finishing my Sunki last week as well!! I know that a lot of the blogging world did Sunkis a year ago, but I didn’t, and I feel like I wasn’t prepared for the pocket bit either. There needs to a label along with the pattern instruction: “On a scale of 1 to 4 times you want to punch the wall while sewing it, this pattern receives 2 punches. 1 for how utterly baffled you will feel staring at the pictures that coincide with the pocket installation, 2 for when you actually try to pull it off.” The pattern does have such a great result though and I already have fabric mentally picked for my second, but I think I might just omit working pockets completely. I love that design element, but they are shallow anyway and such a headache to install anyway… and now I’m whining.

    Yours did turn out wonderfully though, I love that bold print on it and you are so SO right about how incredible those cuffs are! Bravo!

    At least you can sleep through the night after making this dress… 🙂

    Like

  7. Olu this dress is simply stunning!!! Why I’m stumbling upon it now idk, but this version is my current fave. I feel you though about the instructions, as I too had a tad of a hard time making it work. Beautiful job as always!

    Like

Comments make me happy :-)

