The secret to finding cool clothes for boys

I think we would all agree that it is much easier to find cool clothes for girls than it is to find cool clothes for boys. But if you have a sewing machine and you aren’t afraid to use it, there are some awesome patterns for boys out there. So why not make them yourself.

Sewing from a pattern may be easier than you think. Independent designers do a great job of making their patterns easy to follow. With clear step by step instructions and easy to understand illustrations or photos to guide you through the whole process. Most of them are also just an email away from answering any of your question incase you get stuck or need some advice.

The satisfaction, sense of achievement and pride you will feel when you have made something yourself can not be matched with any clothes you buy from the shops.

When you see the patterns below I know you’ll be tempted.

My top 10 patterns for boys

In no particular order…

top ten boys patterns

  1. Triangle Pants by See Kate Sew  
    Watch this space to see how I used this pattern to make a dinosaur costume fit for a wedding
  2. Theo Shirt by Zonen 09
    This pattern includes versions for beginners and advanced, the instructions are in Dutch but that’s where Google Translate comes in handy
  3. Super Skinny Pants by Blank Slate Patterns
    Girls can wear them too, hurrah!
  4. Rascals Pants by FelicityPatterns
    These slouchy pants are very easy to sew, no tricky bits at all
  5. Small Fry Skinny Jeans by Titchy Threads
    For ages 0-12 years. If you’re sewing for a 2 year old, you’re in luck, download the free pattern
  6. Hooded Dragon Vest by Puperita
    Easy to sew and available in newborn baby size all the way up to age 10. I’ll be making one soon, keep your eyes peeled
  7. School Bus T-shirt by Oliver+S
    Quick and easy to sew, with several different style options
  8. W Pants by Blank Slate Patterns
    These are so cool, I may even try a girl version with a slim fit
  9. Jude Jacket by Shwin Designs
    Can be made in wool, fleece, cotton… the list goes onLast but not least…
  10. Knight hoodie by Charming Doodle

Here’s one I made earlier…

knight hoodie

About the knight hoodie

This was the first time I had sewn with sweatshirt fleece, now I’m a big fan. It’s so smooth to sew, like rollerblading along the banks of the Serpentine in Hyde Park (yep, that’s what I used to do on a Friday evening, many, many years ago).

knight hoodie

The topstitching makes a huge difference, it makes it come alive. After each piece I topstitched I found myself sitting back to admire what I’d done. I’ll certainly be using sweatshirt fleece again, I have some in grey (surprise, surprise) and I’ve been plotting and scheming as to what to make with it.

What would you make if you had some grey sweatshirt fleece?

knight4

I absolutely love this knight hoodie pattern, it’s so darn clever and has instant WOW factor. Believe it or not it’s a doddle to sew. The only slightly tricky bit being the zip and trying to get The Machine to sew through all the layers of fabric.

It took me a few evenings to complete the hoodie but I thoroughly enjoyed every minute. I felt kind of sad when I had to depart with it and give it to my nephew, but it was his birthday present and it was 2 months late (oops!), so alas, I could keep it (to look at it and admire) no longer.

knight1 knight3  knight5 knight6

I would love to make a girl version one day, I wouldn’t change a thing apart from the colour. This pattern is perfect just the way it is.

14 thoughts on “The secret to finding cool clothes for boys

  1. I love the knight hoodie. Not only is it hard to find cool boy patterns, to find them in sizes that go up to the sizes where they care about how their clothes look. Love your ideas.

    Like

  2. That night hoodie is adorable!

    I am a local artist/ designer in the Bay Area and I started a children’s clothing line called Lamb ER Kay that effectively combines going green and philanthropy. Lamb ER Kay is an upscaled children’s clothing line where we believe in upscaling items that are too great to just be thrown out like yesterday’s garbage. Our mission is to give back as a portion of every garment sold will help fund a child supported by Tamu Orphans which is located in Tamu, Kenya. I would like to share Lamb ER Kay with the parents of the Bay Area. More about Lamb ER Kay can be found at https://www.facebook.com/LambERKay and http://www.gofundme.com/3z1wes.

    We do custom designs and we ship anywhere in the US 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Would you go to dinner with a man wearing this shirt? | Needle and Ted

Comments make me happy :-)

