Always follow the instructions (unless you know what you’re doing)

I was thrilled when I got an email from Perfect Pattern Parcel asking me if I wanted to be part of the Parcel #2 blog tour.

Perfect Pattern Parcel offer high-quality pdf sewing patterns by indie designers (independent designers). The funds raised from each Pattern Parcel sale goes to the charity Donors Choose.

The unique thing about PPP is that you choose your price, but if you choose to pay $24 or more you will automatically be sent a Bonus Pattern! The Bonus Pattern for this Parcel is the Prefontaine Shorts by Made with Moxie. The other patterns are [drum roll]…..

perfect pattern parcel Two

What a fine list of indie designers, and some inspiring patterns.

Little ol’ me doing a blog tour, can you believe it?

So, there I was doing my ‘thang’, not even noticing if anyone was watching (I’m not one to check my stats, it’s like using the bathroom scales, sometimes you’re just better off not knowing). Everyone else seemed to be at the party and I was enjoying it from the side. Then, unexpectedly I was approached and asked to dance by one of the kool kats. A wave of adrenalin came rushing over me and I became giddy with excitement.

So here I am at the party and what a great time I’ve been having. Pattern Parcel #2 includes sewing patterns for a little girl’s essential spring wardrobe. Perfect!

First up I decided to check out the Celestial Tee by Figgy’s. An easy one to start with, then ease my way through the others. How wrong was I? The pattern looked simple but it took some concentration and I learnt the hard way.

blue stripes celestial tee

Look at that gaping neckband and those wonky tucks!

Yep, I forgot to mark the tucks from the pattern and yep I used the wrong interfacing for the neckband. I’ll put that down to impatience, I was stupidly eager to start and clearly I didn’t follow the instructions properly. I mean if you were following a recipe for hot dogs you wouldn’t just put your pet dog in a bun because that’s all you had. So I should never have used the ridiculously stiff interfacing that I had rather than the soft stretchy knit interfacing that was indicated in the instructions.

side seams close up

Moving swiftly on. Did you see how well me side seams match up? Huh! huh! Thank you. (Erm! I won’t show you the other side.)

I made size 6-7 for Darcy, but lengthened it by 2.5cm. She’s an extremely tall little girl. Is that right? Can you be tall and little? I was glad the pattern had lengthen lines, I just know I would have added the length to the bottom otherwise.

It’s so annoying having to make a garment again because you made a mistake (or 2) the first time, and even though the tissue thin blue stripe version is not perfect, Darcy will still wear it. But my eyes will always focus on that dodgy neckband and those awful tucks. So of course I’ve made another one. And this time I used a heavenly, silver metallic cotton jersey. I paid close attention to the instructions and my Celestial tee turned out a dream.

celestial tee1

Just look at the tucks on this baby! And the (optional)  top stitching on the shoulders. I just love the detail. And the neckband. Look at it, it sits round the neck (as it should). Whoop! whoop!

detail shots celestial tee1

 

celestial tee 4

To get your hands on this splendid pattern and 4 (or 5) others, head on over to patternparcel.com and name the amount you are willing to pay. In doing so, not only will you have some adorable new  patterns, you will be helping the charity Donors Choose and supporting some super talented indie designers.

Perfect Pattern Parcel #2

celestial tee 3

In the meantime you and your little one can play around with this fun Perfect Pattern Parcel paper doll. Colour her in, dress her up or use it to help decide which fabric to go for.

I would love your feedback, advice and thoughts on my version of Figgy’s Celestial Tee, but….

If you were to ask me, I would say…

 

What did you learn from sewing the Celestial tee?

Always follow the instructions. Unless of course you know what you’re doing.

What new technique did you discover?

Attaching the neckband was a revelation. It was attached before sewing up the side seam. I love this method, I wish I’d known it when I made the Candy Stripe top.

What do you like most about the Celestial tee?

The beautiful curve of the high front and the low back and the unexpected top stitching on the shoulders.

celestial tee side shotback view celestial tee

What would you change?

The pattern is great, but I would have loved a version without the tucks. It would have been even quicker to sew and to be honest I would have preferred it. Though I’m glad I tried it and have now ‘mastered it’.

Will you use the pattern again?

Yes, definitely, it’s quick to sew and I just love the result. Next time I think I’ll try to a version without the tucks though. Hopefully I’ll be able to alter the pattern accordingly.

celestial tee 5

That’s it, I’m going home now, join me at the Hanami dress party tomorrow and I’ll show you my next hot move. It’s called ‘improvisational pleating’. And here’s a little taster.

paper-doll3

16 thoughts on “Always follow the instructions (unless you know what you’re doing)

  1. oh, i love love love that shiny celestial tee!! i’m pretty sure it’s the definition of celestial perfection 🙂 can’t wait to see what you have for tomorrow. thank you SO much for sewing along. XO

    Like

  2. Perfect pattern parcel should think about boys. it s unfair
    Anyway, i do really like the shiny top but it may be too overdressed, isn’t it?

    Like

  3. Pet dog in a bun hahaha love it 🙂 Oh I also at time too eager to start… and it doesn’t always work for me! The second tee turned out great! And yes, small and tall is what I have here 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy :-)

